the book blogger test

Hey hey hey it’s Ivy! We’ve been tagged by an extraordinary girl in an ordinary world for the ultimate book blogger test. Thank you! Sooo…today I’m gonna answer a few highly bookish questions that determine whether or not we are worthy book bloggers. Nah it’s just for fun…

And now it’s Em… I’ll be in purple and Ivy is blue. 

We’re going to ignore the fact that we aren’t really book bloggers, it’s okay because we kind of do book blogging (right…?)

book blogger final.jpg

rules

1. Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog
2. Answer the ten questions asked on this post
3. Nominate at least five people to do it also
4. Let your nominees know you nominated them

top 3 book pet hates

  1. When people read the first book in a series, like it, and then don’t finish the series. It kind of makes me want to yell “what are you doing?!?” at them. I can understand if you don’t like the first book, but if you do, why not finish the series unless it’s like 20 books long??
  2. When you finish one of the books of a series and it ends on a cliffhanger and then have to wait forever until the next book comes out (aka me after reading Empire of Storms😢.) The struggle is real.
  3. When people borrow your books and “forget” to give them back. I’ve lost so many books to this and it just makes me mad. Books are (kind of) expensive, people!
  4. Books with obvious endings. Gaah these make me really mad. OR when the author just sort of gives up at the ending and cuts the story off with no real closure. 
  5. When characters are really cliche and they only fit into one “type”. For me, the most interesting books always have complicated characters that aren’t necessarily good but aren’t bad either.

perfect reading spot

Definitely my bed. It’s warm and cozy, and then I can fall asleep really easily (sometimes too easily…) 

Hmm…maybe my couch? During the winter I love crashing on the couch with a blanket, a cup of tea, and a good book #perfection

three book confessions

  1. I am actually really bad at taking care of books and it makes me cringe so much…I’ve accidentally dropped a book in the bath before😬
  2. I actually LOVE informational/nonfiction reading (most of the time.) I really liked Born to Run by Christopher McDougall, and sometimes I go through our local library website and scroll through pages of books to find ones that look good…
  3. People will only understand this if they’ve read the whole A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas, but…I accidentally read the biggest spoiler in ACOWAR before I even started the book. It was bad….very bad.
  4.  I always dog-ear my pages because I am a really lazy human and my bookmarks always seem to be on the other side of the room. (I’m gonna be getting a lot of hate from book bloggers about this I bet😂)
  5. Like every other book I read I give up on right before the end because I get too bored. I know, it’s bad.
  6. I haven’t read a YA book for 3 or 4 months. I feel like I get a lot more out of not-YA books- I don’t know, the writing style annoys me…

last time you cried reading a book

When I read A Man Called Ove by Frederick Backman…I did a review on it here, but the ending was really sad.

To be honest, I am totally a crybaby when it comes to books…I think the most recent book I’ve lost tears over was Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood. I cried literally 5 or 6 times??? There was lots of drama😂

number of books on your bedside table

I think I have three now…plus my kindle, which has like 10 books on it…

 Three at the moment. But of course I’ve had 12 at one point in time…that was very dangerous.

favorite reading snack

Popcorn, because I just love popcorn so much. Yes, it’s kind of bad for books…paper towels are needed.

 Those peanut butter-filled pretzel bites that you get from Trader Joe’s, weirdly enough. I don’t know, I crave them when I read for some reason??

three books you’d recommend to anyone

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. If you haven’t read this, you are definitely missing out. It’s kind of like a modern classic, and it’s just so powerful.
  2. Anything by Sarah J. Maas. There is not a book called anything, I promise. If there was I would have read it already😂 But I would recommend any of SJM’s books to anyone. I’m not a fantasy person, and I love them. I’m currently trying to convince my friends (*cough cough, Ivy*) to read them. 🙂
  3. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Anne Brashares. I just love this series. It’s really sweet and just a great coming-of-age story about friendship and life. It’s just a good, fun read.
  4. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling (duh). Harry Potter is such a worthwhile classic to read and honestly I haven’t met a single person that doesn’t like the series. 
  5. A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson. He is HILARIOUS and his story is witty, informative, lowkey mean-spirited, and utterly comical. It’s the bumbling tale of Bryson’s ill-fated hike with an old friend down the Appalachian trail- though surprisingly enough, alongside the comedy there’s actually some hefty opinions on the National Park Service and modern-day society.
  6. The Eight by Katherine Neville. It’s pretty cool, and I think anyone would really enjoy this book. It’s a big, blowzy, intense thriller of a novel. Neville flawlessly weaves two very different yet similar stories into one breathtaking read.

a picture of your favorite bookshelf

Ivy’s bookshelf:

IMG_3486.JPG
It’s kind of a mess…sorry 😂

Em’s bookshelf:

my bookshelf
this is kind of a low quality pic…😬 sorry

how much books mean to you (in three words)

I love books (ahhh this is so cheesy and I’m really sorry 😬) Seriously, though, it’s true. I read A LOT, and there’s a reason. I just love it.

Books are knowledge. I think it’s pretty cool to put yourself into someone else’s shoes and live their story. It’s almost like you’re living different lives and I think books are important to our awareness of the world but also ourselves. Books convey things that even movies can’t.

biggest reading secret

Okay so I know there are a lot of people like this but most of the time, I’d rather read than go to a social gathering (unless it’s with some of my good friends.)

I honestly can’t think of anything…

we tag…

if you’ve already done this tag or don’t want to for, don’t feel pressured 🙂

Emma @ bookish nights

May @ Forever and Everly

CJ the Brit

Sarah @ between the pages

Annie @ Annie Likes Words

 

So… are you a worthy book blogger? (haha just kidding) If we didn’t tag you, feel free to tag yourself and link back to this post 🙂

xx

Ivy and Em

 

22 thoughts on “the book blogger test

  1. This was such a nice post! I loved reading about your bookish quirks. I totally understand about dog-earing your pages. I mean, I never do it. I just loose my place all the time, but I can understand that. I might have to steal this tag, it was really fun!

    Pip | Pip and Lolly

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for tagging me, this seems really fun, I think I may do it this week!! Agh I really need to organize my bookshelf by rainbow BUT I always hate how I end up with this pile of books that well aren’t specifically any color?? Just a weird blend of pinks and blues and yellows and ANNOYING. So I just have them separated by height lol 😂😂. Also I think I have the same exact bookcase as Em (I don’t know who’s answering this comment so I can’t really say you…haha), I got mine from target because it was pretty inexpensive.

    I’ve read the Book Thief, (gosh whenever I say or write the title of that book I still get emotional about Rudy *CLUTCHES HEART*) and am currently working on A Court of Mist and Fury! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my gosh, we are so similar! Whenever I do a rainbow bookshelf I end up with random gray books or books that are two colors and have no clue where to put them 😂
      I got my bookshelf at Ikea (I think?? I’ve had it for a really long time) and I kind of need a new one because I have to many books so I put all my SJM books on the top 😂😂
      Ahhh Rudy! I get so emotional about him too! And I love ACOMAF 🙂
      xx
      Em

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ohhhhh myyyy goooddd I’m so sorry to hear that people ‘forgot’ to give you your books back Em, that’s horrible 😦

    Haha while I personally could never dog-ear I don’t really see why people would hate on other people for doing it (I’ve seen people do this… like why…) I mean it’s not your book? Let people do what they want?

    Both your shelves are so pretty and cute! I love them

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I don’t like when people dog-ear MY books, but when it’s someone else’s book it’s okay…And luckily, I’ve only lost like 2 books when people don’t give them back. 🙂
      xx
      Em

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

