road trip tbr (+recommendations?)

Hey hey it’s Ivy! I wanted to share a few books I want to read next on my upcoming roadtrip. . .and get recommendations from our lovely followers? I just finished the Eight which was utterly AMAZING so I have a high bar set for the next book I read. However I am completely done with dark historical fiction and I’m ready for maybe a contemporary novel? I’ll have to be completely honest: I am usually really not a big fan of contemporary YA. Why, you ask? SO MANY CLICHES. I feel like I’m reading the same plot over and over again. But if it’s well-done, I can totally appreciate a contemporary read. Any recommendations?? I would LOVE to know. And I’ll share a few books on my tbr for you too 🙂

road trip tbr final.jpg

Without further ado, here’s my summer booklist (not in order):

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Image result for court of thorns and roses book 1

I have heard so much about this book from my friends. It is SUCH a big deal right now and it’s been getting so many raving reviews I feel like I definitely need to read it for myself.

“This is a great read based on the story of Beauty and the Beast. It’s a new twist on an old tale with faerie lore mixed in. It follows the Beauty and the Beast story as you might expect in the beginning but the end brings new and strange things that are both exciting and suspenseful.”

~Sarah J. Maas, author


Life of Pi by Yann Martel

 This is a book that my mom actually recommended to me (she’s a bookworm too. I wonder where I get it😂)

This seems like a book that’s going to make me cry. I’ve heard it was turned into a beautiful movie and both the book and the movie have gotten good reviews.

“Yann Martel’s Life of Pi is the story of a young man who survives a harrowing shipwreck and months in a lifeboat with a large Bengal tiger named Richard Parker.”

~Cliffs Notes


Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Image result for eleanor and parkOkay, I admit…I always judge books by their cover. And this is like the cutest cover ever so it just has to be a good book, right?😂

Eleanor and Park has gotten off-the-charts ratings and is considered one of the best contemporary teen reads of 2017.

“The story follows dual narratives by Eleanor and Park, two misfits living in Omaha, Nebraska from 1986 to 1987. Eleanor, a 16-year-old girl with curly red hair, and Park, a half-Korean, 16-year-old boy, meet on a school bus on Eleanor’s first day at the school and gradually connect through comic books and mix tapes of ’80s music, sparking a love story.” ~Wikipedia


That’s my road trip tbr- short and sweet😊 I’m gonna have a LOT of extra time to burn so why not? If you were wondering, my actual tbr list is much longer but fifteen books in one week might be pushing it😂 

And the best part: do YOU have any book recommendations for me? I am running short on recommendations because Em is out of town (she’s been at camp for two weeks if you’re wondering why I’m doing all the posts) so I’m taking any and all suggestions.

Well thanks for stopping by! Hopefully you can add a couple of books to your tbr and help me add one to mine😘

Love always,

Ivy♥


what’s YOUR favorite book?☟☟

 

 

21 thoughts on “road trip tbr (+recommendations?)

  1. Awesome list! I’d recommend It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini–it’s a pretty quick read and it’s a fabulous mix of lightheartedness and commentary on mental illness. Hope your road trip is lovely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eleanor and Park looks so cute! I usually judge books by their covers as well. This summer I’m planning on reading some of my favorite books to my younger sister. I thought it would be a good way to get closer, while having a good time together.

    ~ Pip

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Have fun on your road trip! The Life of Pi looks really interesting. You might want to try Counting By 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan. It’s supposed to be a middle-grade book, but honestly, it’s much more YA-ish (to me, anyways). I think you’d like it. 😀

    -Clara ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ohh I have a lot! Have fun on your trip btw. 🙂

    Here’s a list:
    Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
    Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff
    Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
    The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
    Lily’s Crossing by Patricia Reilly Giff
    The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom
    Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls
    Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
    Holes by Louis Sachar

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

