June wrap up

What? June’s over? It’s gone by so fast! It feels like it was literally just May.

It’s both Em AND Ivy, and today, we wanted to do a June wrap-up post. We’ve seen a lot of other bloggers do this, but we’ve never actually done it before… wish us luck.

june wrap up final

Ivy = blue

Em = purple

Part of the reason I wanted to do this post was because I said I’d update you guys on my summer tbr, and I’ve actually surprisingly made progress on it this month. Plus, it’ll probably help you get to know me better (maybe?) Also I wanted to do a wrap up on my My June Goals post.

^^”surprisingly” says she who finishes a book every two days 😉 

an Em quote:

” I’ve been reading this book for a week. I am reading so slow ugh.”

How does she read so fast? I don’t know either. #speed_demon ANYWAYS.

Books

Here are the books that I read this month. A check mark next to one means that it was on my summer tbr (which you can find here) Looking back, I read A LOT compared to others (*cough cough Ivy* ) probably because school got out and I had a lot of free time…but I do read a lot 🙂 I normally read even more (it’s possible) and I think that next month I’ll read even more.

  • Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury- I read this one for school, and tbh, I wasn’t really sure if I would like it. It was really good, though. The writing style was unusual (lots of metaphors and similes) but I liked it, most of the time. I didn’t particularly like the ending, however-it was really open-ended, and I don’t like to be left with questions! Overall though, I think it was good and I can see why it’s considered a classic. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman-This one was also for school, and it was a good quick read. I ended up reading it really quickly because I wanted to read Caraval (my next book) but it was still pretty good. If I could, I’d give it 3.5 stars but since I can’t I’ll do 4 stars. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber-Ivy was right, it was amazing. I literally got it after school one day and finished it the next night, and I only read it outside of school 😂 Ivy did a post on it a few months ago (here) and I relate SO much to it. (there are spoilers in it, fyi) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
  • The Cellar by Natasha Preston-I’m still not really sure what I thought of this book. The main character, Summer, kind of annoyed me because (this is not a spoiler alert) she basically let herself be kidnapped. Yes, I would probably be scared in that situation but her reaction wasn’t that realistic, and it was a little too convenient. I feel like I kept reading to find out the ending, not because I really liked the book.   ⭐️⭐️⭐️ ✔️
  • Going Geek by Charlotte Huang- This was totally a feel-good book. Yes, it was predictable, but it was sweet and a good book to read after the thriller The Cellar. I liked it, but it was really cliché. It was sweet though. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ✔️
  • Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys- I had really high hopes for this book, because Ruta Sepetys is such an AMAZING writer, and I LOVE her books. While it wasn’t as good as Salt to The Sea (a newer book by the same author,) it was still pretty good. I liked the mystery aspect in addition to the historical piece. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ✔️
  • How to Be Brave by E. Katherine Kottaras_-I wasn’t really expecting this book to be as heavy and go into as deep of topics as it did, but it was still pretty good. I think the main reason I kept reading was because I wanted to know what happened, not because I really loved it. ⭐️⭐️⭐️ ✔️
  • The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom- This was a really good quick read. It was sweet and had some good messages, and was different from what I normally read. I liked it, but it wasn’t my favorite (if you know what I mean :))       ⭐️⭐️⭐️ ✔️
  • Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith- I really enjoyed this book! The author made it surprisingly realistic, even in a really unlikely situation (winning the lottery.) It was sweet and light and a really good summer read. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ✔️

Looking back on the books I’ve read this month (well, and last month because I honestly cannot read that fast. Unless it’s a really really REALLY good book, like Caraval and then I cry and become emotionally invested in it and lose sleep over it). So, here’s my top books from both this month and last month.

  • Congo by Michael Crichton- this book was honestly so, so out of my norm. I chose it by the cover (bad Ivy!) and it actually was pretty interesting. It was an adventure/thriller set deep in the Congo rain forest, a group of American geologists looking for answers as to why the formerly dispatched team was killed, searching for the Lost City of Zinj, and racing against other teams for elusive treasure through the deadly Congo. Although Crichton’s writing style sometimes included long-winded offshoots on 90s technology and detailed background info, I still thought it was a pretty interesting book. 
  • Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown- the cover sums it up perfectly: 

    nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics. It was such a memorable, hopeful, heartwarming, intense, and bittersweet story that I have actually learned a lot from. It’s going to be my June book of the month so I don’t want to give too much away. To be continued 🙂

  • Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells- this book has made me laugh and cry and think harder about life. I honestly wasn’t expecting to get as much out of the book as I have. I don’t want to give too much away for this one either, though. I’m planning an upcoming post. . .you’ll have to wait and see 😉
  • Wild by Cheryl Strayed- I’m about halfway through. I started reading it thinking it would be like a Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson, which I read a few months ago and loved. Although the general setting is the same, Wild is a big, courageous memoir of Strayed overcoming lifelong struggles and putting her life back together-climbing out of the hole she dug herself into- while embarking on a roller-coaster ride of a journey down the Pacific Crest Trail. It’s a true story of self-discovery, bravery, love, struggle, self-discovery, and adventure. 

School

I not only met my goals of 90% on finals and ending the year with a 4.0, I crushed them. My grades on finals were from 96-100%, and I’m really proud of myself because I honestly didn’t think I would do that well…Good grades on finals helped me keep my 4.0, and now it’s summer so I don’t need to think about school for like two months. It’s not like I’ll start obsessing over school in the beginning of August.

Welllll. . .kind of hard to follow that haha. And I thought I was a good student. but Em is an overachiever in almost every aspect of her life so I am very used to it 😂School ended last week . Honestly, the last week of school was so nice- it was a good wrap-up to my year. For clarification: there was no actual learning that took place. “Graduation” gave closure to my year. Both Em and I got nominated for a sportsmanship/academics award and ended with good grades overall.

We can now officially call ourselves high schoolers which I am finding very difficult to factor. I was at the park a few days ago and my friends I had to explain to this six year old girl that no, we were not in college, we were not in middle school, we were in high schoolWhy is it so hard for me to come to grips with being a freshman??? 

But don’t get me wrong. I am totally excited for high school. #howlongwillitlast?

Blogging

  • The stats:
  • We kept our posting schedule ( Wednesday-Sunday) really well! There were a few extra posts, even, and we’ll continue with this schedule in July and probably August.
  • I feel like I’ve been commenting a lot more on posts, but I haven’t been really measuring it. I love getting comments, and I know others feel the same way, and it’s a good way to interact with the blogging community.
  • The blogging community is honestly one of my favorite parts about blogging. Everyone is so supportive and understanding, and I always love discovering new bloggers. 
  • AND. . .we finally got to 100 followers!!! Thanks guys😘

Personal

  • Yes, I’ve been working on training the puppy…a little every day, steady progress.
  • It’s taken me a while to get back up to where I was last year in swimming, and I haven’t dropped time on my free (grrr, soon!!) but hopefully I will in July. I’ve improved in everything else (except fly because fly=struggle).

You know that exhilarating feeling you get when it’s been raining or overcast for weeks and then you step outside and it’s all bright and sunny and gorgeous and you breathe in the smell of freshly cut grass (which I am very allergic to but oh well) and feel the sunshine on your shoulders and feel a rush of excitement and longing to be outdoors? 

No? Only me? Yeah I know I’m weird 

Yes, yes, I enjoy my summers more than most. 

I am also very excited because we are taking a road trip along the coast! Ooh la-la! We’re renting out an RV and taking the 101, stopping at the redwood forest and sand dunes and Oregon coast along the way. That is actually my dream vacation. Aaaaahhhh so excited!! :))) Oh yes, and my lovely followers: you will get to look at all of my lovely pictures 😉 hahaha I’ll narrow it down to my top 100 (sike) 🙂 not

  Whew!😂

So all in all, we both had a pretty good June. What about you?? Excited for anything this summer? We’ll keep you posted (hahahaha I had to 😉 ) 💕

Love always,

 Ivy &  Em

 

 

7 thoughts on “June wrap up

  1. Interesting concept! I’ve seen other bloggers do this as well. I may give it a try. Ray Bradbury is an excellent author and I love everything that I’ve read by him, are you guys on goodreads?

    Good luck in high school, it does go by pretty fast.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love this!! I know right? I can’t believe we are all high schoolers! Em, congrats on a 4.0!! ❤❤ Ivy, have fun on your trip!! (I dont mind if there are hundreds!😂) I love those books and just this post on general! Can’t believe it’s already (practically) July! ❤ allie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

