DIY notebook decor

Hey guys, Emily here. Today I want to share with you a quick (ish) and easy way to decorate your notebook for school or just for fun. I actually got the idea from Life Ann Style, which uses images from Tumblr, notebook paper, and notebook binding to make a really cool DIY notebook. Well, I don’t have all those supplies and I’d probably mess it up anyways, so I adapted it by basically just doing the last step, which can be done using any old (or new) notebook you have lying around.

nb actual
Here’s what my finished notebook looked like!

 This notebook is covered with random pictures and quotes I found on Pinterest- another cool idea would be to cover it with pictures of you, your friends, family, and pictures you took.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 notebook. Mine was a plain old composition notebook, but any other notebook will work fine.
  • Mod Podge- if you don’t have it, I’ve heard you can use glue sticks in place of a bottom layer and then cover it with clear packing tape for a top coat, but I haven’t tried it out myself.
  • A bunch of pictures and quotes from Pinterest or the Internet or, as mentioned earlier, from you.
  • Scissors
  • Paintbrush of some sort
  • Newspaper to cover your work space
  • Sharpie (optional)

So here’s how to do it- with pictures included. (I know, great, right? 😊)

First, open Microsoft word (or a photo editing program) and copy and paste your images onto it, creating a collage.

notebook 1

 My original plan was to cover the front and back of the notebook, so I did two pages. If you only want to do one side of the notebook, you will only need to fill one page with photos. The images can be made bigger or smaller, depending on personal preference.

Next, print out the page (s) of images.

notebook 2

Then you will need to cut apart the images and lay them on the notebook, arranging them the way you will want them glued down (you may need to trim them/ rearrange them- I forgot that a composition notebook is smaller that 8.5×11 paper, so I needed to do a lot of trimming and rearranging…if you are using a composition notebook, make very wide margins when you are creating the digital collage, and you will be fine.)

 

You will most likely want to lay down some newspaper before using the Mod Podge-this is a good time to do it. When laying down the images, I left a space in the corner of my notebook, because I’m planning on writing my name there in metallic sharpie.

Start gluing down your images! Put down Mod Podge in one spot at a time to ensure it doesn’t dry as you’re putting down your images.

 

Let all the Mod Podge dry.

Now put a thin layer of Mod Podge over all the images.

 

Once the top layer is dry, you can take your sharpie and color in between all the images and over all the white spots (this is optional, but makes the final presentation a lot cleaner looking overall. I recommend doing it if you are using a composition notebook.)

And voila! You’re done! Enjoy your awesome and personalized new notebook you can carry proudly from class to class, or enjoy as you write in it happily at home.

XOXO,

Emily

« I v y & E m «

Leave a Reply

