Back to School & Positivity

It’s that time of year again…it’s the end of summer. The start of fall. The dreaded…….back to school season.

You know what I mean. You see the evidence every time you walk into a store, even when you try to avoid it. The dreaded school supplies. The sales for jeans, t-shirts, and -gasp- jackets. The Halloween decorations, the #2 pencils, the notebooks and folders and binders and….

blog back to school

Well, you get the picture. School’s starting. Summer’s ending. Leaves are falling. Suddenly it’s too cold for shorts and tank tops. Suddenly you have to wear shoes other than flip -flops. Suddenly you have to start going to bed at a decent time so you can wake up early for school.

If you’re like me, you probably have mixed feelings about this time of year. Maybe you love school, like me, but you also love summer. Maybe you feel a mix of sadness, joy, and anxiety when you finally do your back to school shopping, when it dawns on you that summer is actually over and school is starting soon…

Or maybe you hate school. Well, maybe not hate, but maybe you strongly dislike school. Maybe you wish your whole life could be full of summers. Maybe when you think about back-to-school you just want to crawl in a hole and hide there until school is out again and it’s summer again.

But there’s a thing about the start of school: it’s a brand new beginning. Maybe your last year of school absolutely sucked, and there’s no way this year can be any worse. The thing is, you have to be positive. If you come into school thinking, oh, this will suck, this year will be awful, I’ll hate it, then that will be what happens. Life will suck if you think it will suck. That’s just the way it goes.

On the other hand, if on the first day of school you come in happy, excited, dreaming of new and amazing possibilities, if you think positive, that’s what will happen. You will have a positive year. Mind over matter – if you think you can, and believe in yourself, and keep pushing, you can. That’s how running works – it’s totally a mental sport. Don’t believe me? Try it out. Go for a run and challenge yourself to just be positive, to push the pain and the hurt away, and you’ll go much longer and farther than you’d believe.

Positivity is an important skill in all aspects of life. We’ve all heard the saying: is the glass half empty, or half full? Positivity is knowing that the glass is half full. It’s being an optimist, not a pessimist. It’s being a clear blue sky, a sunny day, and not a thunder -clouded sky and pouring rain. Being positive isn’t necessarily about being super perky and happy all the time. It’s about trying to do that, but it’s also about not being dragged down by negative things.

Think positive-the glass is half full!
The glass is half full! (By the way, this is Ivy’s hand-my hand is definitely not that pretty🙂)

Some tips on staying positive (even when you don’t think you can):

  • Make a list of things you like about yourself. Take it out, look at it, and try to add something when you’re feeling down.
  • When you’ve had a really bad day, text, call or email a friend. Or, better yet, see them face to face. Being around someone you like will make you happier.
  • Ask people to tell you jokes, or search the internet for (appropriate) jokes. As they say, laughter is the best medicine!
  • Get active. Go for a run or walk, jump rope (hey, you’re never to old for that) or dance to some of your favorite music.
  • Make a list of goals for this year, month, or trimester. Work hard to crush them…when you do, it will feel amazing. Trust me.
  • Look up stories of hope, kindness, and friendship (Pinterest is a good place to start.) It’ll make you feel better about the world.
  • Be grateful. Make a list of things you’re thankful for-it’ll help you give thanks and make you realize how lucky you are

How do you feel about back to school? Are you excited, dreading it, or a combination? How has staying positive helped you in life, and how do you stay positive?  Please leave a comment/reply below!👇👇

XOXO,

Emily (with photos by Ivy)

P.S. (This is Ivy, by the way) Emily is like a teacher’s dream student, so these tips are tried and true. Seriously. They’re totally worth a shot.

« I v y & E m «

 

13 thoughts on “Back to School & Positivity

  1. Very inspiring…. but I am still not looking forward to school starting:)
    Ivy, (I almost typed your real name) I love the picture of the school supplies! You should enter it in a photo contest or something.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel the same about school….a little excited, but still wishing that summer was a little longer. I am going to miss sleeping late into the mornings, but I am excited to see you guys again! I have tried running with a positive attitude, and it really has helped me go faster and further.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. When I have to run P.A.C.E.R. in P.E, I think about factors of the number of the lap I’m doing during the higher numbers, and I think about the music (sometimes I clap to the beat) during the lower number laps. For the 1600 m I focus on keeping up with one person who I know is a little better than me (I decide just before I run), so I can get better. Sometimes I sing a song in my head that goes to the beat of my feet hitting the gound.

        Like

    1. Thinking positively helps me the most during high jump. During discus, I have to think about the form and putting as much speed into the discus as I can.

      Like

Leave a Reply

